IITD CS&E Research Acceleration Fund Donation Campaign

Reconnecting Alumni @ IITD. Click here to contribute.


CSE, IIT Delhi, Excelling in Research

Our department has been ranked as the number 1 Indian department in the area of Computer Science and Information Systems by QS World University Rankings for the year 2015 and 2016.


Virtually Vittala: A 3D reconstruction of the Vittala temple in Hampi

From modeling to navigation, the project allows users to virtually visit and experience the site in a step towards virtual tourism and the preservation of historical sites.


AutoCom : Automatic Brain Tumor Detector

The project aims at developing a tool to be used by the radiologists for detection of Brain Tumors in MRI images automatically.


Latest @ CSE


Faculty awards and achievements

Book Release:  It is my pleasure to share the information about release of my book on "Soft Computing: Fundamentals, Techniques and Application" by McGraw Hill Education in June 2018. This is my 3rd book. One is on Logic and Prolog Programming and other is on Artificial Intelligence. From: Prof Saroj Kaushik

Prof Sayan Ranu's work titled Debunking the Myths of Influence Maximization: An In-depth Benchmarking Study has won the SIGMOD reproducibility award for 2018. Co-author Sainyam Galhotra is also a recent CSE BTech graduate from IIT Delhi. Congrats to all authors!

Prof. Balakrishnan along with P.V.M. Rao (Mech Engg)  have been awarded the National Award for "Improving the Accessibility for the Differently Abled through S&T interventions" for the year 2018 for their work on developing a Refreshable Braille Display. This is the second time the team has received this award.

Sayan Ranu's work on algorithms for molecular synthesis is featured in The Hindu.

Student awards and achievements

Sandeep Chandran has been awarded the FITT "Best Industry Relevant PhD Project in IIT Delhi" Award for his PhD thesis titled "FlexDFD: Flexible DFD Hardware for Efficient Post-silicon Validation" for the year 2017-18. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 60,000. The research was carried out in collaboration with Freescale/NXP Semiconductor and the Semiconductor Research Consortium.

Kuntal Dey, Ritvik Shrivastava, Saroj Kaushik(2018), Topical Stance Detection for Twitter: A Two-Phase LSTM Model Using Attention. 40th European Conference on Information reitrival (ECIR 2018), March 2018. Link : https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-76941-7_40 : Posted by Prof Saroj Kaushik

Kuntal Dey, Saroj Kaushik, Kritika Garg, Ritvik Shrivastava(2018), Topic Lifecycle on Social Networks: Analyzing the Effects of Semantic Continuity and Social Communities. 40th European Conference on Information reitrival (ECIR 2018), March 2018.Link: https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-76941-7_3 : Posted by Prof Saroj Kaushik

Danish Contractor named one of India's Top 10 Innovators Under 35 for the year 2018 by Mint and MIT Technology Review. 

Manjeet Dahiya has won the FIRST PLACE AWARD for his work on "Automatic Verification of Intermittent Systems" (which will appear in VMCAI 2018)  at APLAS 2017 SRC Competition held from November 27-29, 2017 in Suzhou, China.

Neha Sengupta's paper "Benchmark Generator for Dynamic Overlapping Communities in Networks" (ICDE 2017, co-authors Michael Hamann and Dorothea Wagner) declared Best Paper by the German Research Foundation (DFG) Priority Programme on Algorithms for Big Data which sponsored the research.

The Suresh Chandra Memorial award for Best MTech Project for the year 2017 goes to Swarnadeep Saha for his project: Open IE 5.0 - Open Information Extraction from Numerical Sentences and Conjunctive Sentences. Congratulations!

Editorial boards and Program Chairs

Sanjiva Prasad is an Associate Editor of the VNU Journal of Science Computer Science and Communication Engineering (Vietnam)

Department News

Alumnus Pankaj Gupta (BTech 1991) has donated Rs 40 Lakhs to endow three Young Faculty Awards for new faculty joining the department. Read more here about the award and Pankaj.

Copyright © 2018 Department of Computer Science and Engineering. All Rights Reserved.